Posted in Chennai Bloggers Club

The Other Side

The story so far :

  1. A Haunted Memory
  2. Three Strokes of Red
  3. The Red Saree
  4. Black Heart
  5. Who’s next???
  6. 3 NUMB3RS
  7. Will-O’-the-Wisp
  8. Ressurection
  9. I Watched You!
  10. Fates Entwined

IN THE CAB

“Madam, please do not attempt to make any calls.”

Annie was taken aback, the voice was squeaky; but the tone, stern and frightening. Not the one to be easily scared, she asked, “And why? Who are you to order me?”

“Please, you are in danger. Don’t meet Prakash.”

Annie was puzzled; is he commanding or requesting? How does he know what she is up to?

“Stop the car”,

she said, as she continued to dial him frantically. The mobile network was betraying her. She tried to open the windows and started screaming.

With great difficulty trying to close the windows and lock the doors, he tossed his ID card across to her and said, “I am ACP, Noel and I have been with Prakash for more than a decade.”

Annie knew how to spot a fake police ID, she has played with one so many times. Yes, the ID is not fake and it bore the words “ACP Noel Joy”.

“You are the next, you will be killed. Don’t go to Prakash”, he repeated.

Annie would not distrust her fiance. She told the driver to stop the car. She had to go to her Prakash, who had been waiting at the gallery. Noel had to stop.

Annie was sure, she would never doubt her Prakash.

AGAINST THE PASTELS

Never had he been so restless, the red of his eye against the soft pastels on the wall, like red roses in winter.

He could never miss it; juxtaposing the sites of the first 7 murders that made Jack the Ripper famous, the artist had done a neat job – “Three Strokes of Red”

Tagged - CBC event - Jack the ripper 3 strokes of red

 

“So you also like the Jack!” Ha, ha.. ha.. the room echoed with his laugh.

“Now there is competition; but how did he get it there?”

“I am not scared. I have trained myself well, too well”, he said shaking the crystal vases neatly arranged on the stairs.

He calmed himself down.

Before succumbing to cancer, Rajarathnam had spent all his love and patience to protect his dear child and trained him well that he may not get into any trouble. He cried, cried for his dad and went to his memories.

L-I-S-S-Y …….. L-I-I-I-I-S-S-S-S-Y …… LISSY, woman you did it. You brought it out. You made me lose my control; you played with my emotions. How many times did I tell you not to mock my love? Why did you go to his lust? He never cared for you. He was greedy, and made money illegally. You never liked it. You hated his ways, buy why did you love him? Why did you bear his child?

*************Sobs**************

What was I? A fool?

*************Sobs**************

Your anger made you redder, your love for that idiot made you redder, the glow of a mother made you redder. Yes, I was mad. I should have killed you and not left. I loved the baby too,  I could not kill it. LISSY, you better not make me regret.

************He moves to his workstation and opens his box of treasures***********

“MARY” bore the last vial.

You were sexy and lively and red. I could not have killed my girl, she wore red, but I loved her. I don’t lust her. I can’t kill her, but you, he said holding the vial, “you were ecstasy”.

THE ELEVATOR

Elevators always made her giddy.

She trusted Prakash, she found him odd at times, but she trusted him.

However, she agreed to meet Noel.

She was lost…

Danger?

Were there more murders if I’m the next?

Her brain was rummaging through the past few days’ events.

Nothing is amiss….

Suddenly, she remembered, the last minute entry, “Three Strokes of Red”. There was no time left to debate. She let it be exhibited. But; but what about it?

 

***********************************************************************

Note : This post is a part of the “Tagged” Contest by writer Kaarthika and The Chennai Bloggers Club. Kaarthika’s book is being released on May 29.

 

Now I tag Malavikka to take this forward 🙂

 

Author:

Environment, Society, Rebellion, Music and Adventure are keywords playing in my mind from as long as I remember. A default introvert and an obsessive extrovert, I have strong beliefs and I stand for them. Currently as a Fellow in State Bank of India's Rural Development Fellowship called Youth for India, I plan to share my journey to all.

Leave a Reply

