Posted in The Lazy Cook

Whole Wheat Mix Veg and Egg Pizza

I am starting with my latest cooking experiment; a Pizza.

I was never a pizza lover, but the new thin-crust variations had made me start to like the pizzas. With the latest addition in my kitchen, an OTG, I had to try out a pizza. Being lazy and inexperienced, I spent more time researching than cooking. So, most of my knowledge is what others have shared in different blogs and videos. This is a simple version for the same.

Ingredients

  1. 1.5 cup whole wheat flour
  2. 1 tbsp salt
  3. 1 tsp heaped baking powder
  4. 0.5 tsp baking soda
  5. 2 tsp olive oil
  6. hot water (bubbling up started) – not sure of the quantity; kept adding on 1 tbsp each till I got a medium hard dough (approximately 1/3 cup)
  7. Olive oil – for greasing
  8. 2 tbsp cornflour – for dusting
  9. For Filling – Broccoli florets, Pumpkin, Baby Corn, Tomato, Spinach torn, Onion, dried Thyme, shredded Garlic, Pepper powder, Tomato Ketchup, Chilli Sauce, Soya Sauce, fresh Green Peas, Mushrooms sliced, 1 egg, grated Cheese, salt

Add items 1 to 4 and thoroughly whisk. Add olive oil, thoroughly whisk again. Keep adding water, mix completely using a fork. Once mixed, use fingers to prepare the dough. Stretch and compress it around 5 times, make it into a ball. Keep it covered in a vessel and put it in the freezer for at least 15-20 min. After that put it in the fridge for 10-15 min. This can be kept in the fridge for another 6-8 hours, without it losing its consistency. Just make sure to put it in an air-tight container.

As soon as it is taken out, put it on a large steel/aluminium tray greased with some oil, or onto the kitchen counter greased. I directly put it on my granite kitchen counter. Now using a rolling pin, flatten out the dough as thin as possible. I should have greased the surface with 2-3 drops of oil; will do it next time to prevent the flattened dough from sticking. Removing it this time was difficult.

wheat pizza

 

Once it is bigger than your skillet or cake spring-form tin, stop flattening it. Also depending on the thinness desired.
I made mine around 10 inch big. I had the base of the spring-form tin (9 inch) lined with 2-3 drops of olive oil and dusted with some cornflour. Onto this, I put my flattened wheat pizza base on it, and made sure that there was a small edge across the entire perimeter. This also provided as a boundary for the veggies.

Use 2-3 drops of olive oil on the pizza base to prevent the filling from sticking onto it. Add the filling. Refer to the items that I had used in the list above. It exclusively includes veggies and spice that I love. Be creative and treat your taste-buds.

Put this in a pre-heated (250 degree Celsius for 20 min) oven for 15 minutes. Take out after 2 minutes. Remove pizza onto a large plate, cut into slices and serve hot.

Makes 1 pizza, 9 inch, thin crust, with 6 slices, just sufficient for 2 people

Author:

Environment, Society, Rebellion, Music and Adventure are keywords playing in my mind from as long as I remember. A default introvert and an obsessive extrovert, I have strong beliefs and I stand for them. Currently as a Fellow in State Bank of India's Rural Development Fellowship called Youth for India, I plan to share my journey to all.

Leave a Reply

